The OpenBand issue

OpenBand delivers phone, digital video programming, high-speed internet and other services such as digital home security and web-based home automation. Among the communities it serves are Lansdowne, both residential and town center; three of the five buildings at Leisure World, and Southern Walk, part of the Broadlands community. These communities are referred to as “smart neighborhoods.” Billing is centralized and most residents pay a monthly fee that is embedded in their HOA dues.  They also pay OpenBand directly for optional services and features.

In June, 2009, OpenBand inadvertently allowed its franchise from Loudoun County to expire. The county directed OpenBand to conduct a technical audit before the Board of Supervisors would decide whether to reissue its franchise. Southern Walk has issued a “notice of breach” to OpenBand, stating that it considers their contract to be nullified by the loss of the franchise. That started a 45-day clock for OpenBand to repair the issues identified by Southern Walk. The other communities have taken no action. OpenBand was required to perform a technical audit to be submitted to the Loudoun County Cable and OVS Commission for review. The commission’s members are appointed by the Board of Supervisors; it meets every other month on the second Wednesday.  But, the Board of Supervisors will decide how to proceed on OpenBand’s lapsed franchise. Residents of communities served by OpenBand are urged to email the supervisors to express their views.

2 Responses to The OpenBand issue

  1. Jugal says:

    It will be great if you can provide email id of the supervisors where resident can send there views.

    • loudounhoa says:

      Loudoun County Board of Supervisors

      1 Harrison Street, S.E.,
      Fifth Floor
      P.O. Box 7000
      Mailstop #01
      Leesburg, VA 20177-7000

      Phone: 703-777-0204
      Fax: 703-777-0421
      Comment Line:

      Their terms expire on Dec. 31, 2011.
      After that, we have the new board elected Nov. 8.
      For the rest of this year:
      Scott K. York, Chairman At Large
      Susan Klimek Buckley, Sugarland Run District, Vice-Chairman
      Jim Burton, Blue Ridge District
      Lori Waters, Broad Run District
      Sally R. Kurtz, Catoctin District
      Stevens Miller, Dulles District
      Kelly Burk, Leesburg District
      Andrea McGimsey, Potomac District
      Eugene Delgaudio, Sterling District

Leave a Reply

Fill in your details below or click an icon to log in: Logo

You are commenting using your account. Log Out /  Change )

Google photo

You are commenting using your Google account. Log Out /  Change )

Twitter picture

You are commenting using your Twitter account. Log Out /  Change )

Facebook photo

You are commenting using your Facebook account. Log Out /  Change )

Connecting to %s